Dairy allergies: Casein and whey – what are we talking about?

Little Miss Muffet Sat on a tuffet
Eating her CASEIN and whey;
Along came a spider;
Who sat down beside her
And frightened Miss Muffet away.

When you learned that nursery rhyme, Little Miss Muffet was probably busy eating her curds and whey. As a kid, I was never really sure what curds or whey were, but they certainly didn’t sound very appetizing. Nowadays we hear an awful lot about casein, especially when we talk about food allergies. So what exactly is all this stuff?FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Great question.

Have you ever tried to combine lemon juice, or any other acid, and milk? The milk will separate, resulting in coagulated bits of casein protein – the curds – and a leftover liquid part – the whey. This is caused by chemical reactions among the different types of protein in milk. It probably still doesn’t sound appetizing, but that’s how they make cottage cheese!

Like many other allergies, dairy allergies are caused by the body’s overreaction to certain proteins. There are dozens of proteins in milk, but the two most common allergy sources are casein and whey. The molecular structure of casein is actually very similar to gluten, so many people who are gluten intolerant benefit from a GFCF (gluten-free, casein-free) diet.

Whey protein causes fewer allergies than casein, but for those who are allergic, it can be a hidden danger because it is frequently dried into a powder and added to foods that wouldn’t normally contain dairy. The protein supplement pills you find at gyms and health food stores are often made of whey. It is possible to be allergic to casein but not whey or vice versa.

Lactose intolerance is something completely different. Someone who is lactose intolerant is missing the enzyme lactasewhich is required to digest the sugars in milk. Lactose intolerance is NOT an allergy. Symptoms include nausea, diarrhea, and stomach cramps. These symptoms are uncomfortable but not considered dangerous. However, continuously subjecting oneself to intestinal distress can create more serious problems.

Dairy allergies are far more dangerous. Symptoms can include hives, severe stomach pain, and difficulty breathing.

If you are lactose intolerant, there are many dairy products that you can eat freely - including lactose-free milk, cheese, and yogurt. If you are allergic to dairy, you need to stay away from all dairy and be vigilant about reading labels. And unless you know for sure which type of protein causes your allergy, keep away from anything that contains “casein” or “whey”.

This article was posted in Dairy allergy, lactose intolerance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow comments with the RSS feed for this post. Post a Comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

One Comment

  1. Posted April 8, 2014 at 12:30 AM | Permalink

    I rarely comment, however i did some searching and wound up here Dairy allergies: Casein and whey – what
    are we talking about? | TasterieTasterie. And I actually do have some questions for you if
    it’s allright. Could it be simply me or does it look like a few of the responses come across as if they are left by brain dead visitors?
    :-P And, if you are writing at other social sites,
    I’d like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post.

    Would you make a list of all of all your public sites like your linkedin
    profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

One Trackback

  1. […] Dairy is tricky.  Some people can have it without issue, some can’t have it at all or are intolerant or can’t have just a part of it. When I say part of it, I mean some people have a problem with just one or the other protein in milk products:  casein or whey.  Personally, I have a sensitivity to whey isolate.  That means my body can’t deal with whey when it’s by itself like it is in many protein powders and shakes.  (If you want more info, I found an article that helped me understand them…  http://tasterie.com/blog/2012/10/dairy-allergies-casein-and-whey-what-are-we-talking-about/) […]

Post a Comment

Your email is kept private. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>